Messier 101 (Pinwheel Galaxy)


I took this image about a week ago. The sky never ceases to amaze me. I have captured more galaxies in the last two weeks ,than I ever have since I bought my scope. At the rate my Winter was traveling,I didn’t think I would ever get a chance to observe again. However, the voices in my head kept saying “patience big fellow”. The time arrived ,and I am having a blast!. Cranking some music in the observatory and loving the fact that I no longer need to keep the wireless remote pointed at the DSLR while taking a image. Now, while I take a long exposure,I can just walk away,and ponder the thought of buying new rings and a dovetail for my other mount. Best of both worlds!. Let the main imaging scope do it’s thing,while I do some visual scanning of the heavens on my other scope.
Holy crap?. Am I making any sense or just randomly babbling incoherently?. Lack of coffee or too much coffee?. You be the judge…LMAO
This is a 6 minute exposure unguided of Messier 101. Shot with a unmodded Canon T3i. The seeing was pretty good for the most part.
The Pinwheel galaxy was discovered by Pierre Méchain on March 27, 1781.The visual mag of this galaxy is +7.9 mag. under dark skies. It might be tougher to see in light polluted areas. The distance is 27 million light years away,as in,it took the light we see today 27 million years to reach our retinas. Actually, I like to Google search what the Earth was like 27 million years ago or whatever distance light left a particular object.
Image credit:Andrew Dumont
pinwheel-galaxy-copy

Leave a Reply

