A Better Mars?!


Now that Spring has sprung, which is up for debate. Our temps here in Vermont have been up and down this week. On Monday, we had sunny skies,and high temps near 80 degrees F. By Wednesday,those temps were seemingly a long ago memory,with high temps of 32 Degrees F. Might I also add that we had received 1″ of fresh snow,and a low Wednesday morning of 16 degrees. Note: Our temps have rebounded and is now a balmy 48 degrees. Sorry, that was just a little bit of venting!.
Ok,back to the post.

As everyone knows, Mars is putting on quite a show in the early evenings,and with clear skies is not disappointing. I have imaged every planet in our solar system over the years,and most have been easy imaging except for one. That’s right…… Mars!. It seems that the Roman God of war doesn’t like it photo taken!. I have made attempts many times,with the same results. The fuzzy blob blues!. Being in a climate that is transitioning from Winter to Spring, having clear,clean skies is a novelty. Last night was just that novelty,even for a short period of time.
I stepped out early last night,and noticed clearing skies. The stars twinkled due to a upper air disturbance, and radiational cooling from the days warmth. Remembering last weeks fiasco of trying to image Mars. I gave the planet more time to rise higher in the sky. Rule of thumb for astrophotography is to let the desired object rise as high as possible before imaging.The reason for this is, light coming from a object has less atmosphere to go through as apposed to the same object just rising in the East. This is why stars twinkle more at the horizon than they do when they are over head.
Last night,as I focused on Mars via my Pc monitor. the first thing that jumped out at me was seeing occasional detail from the red planet. Something I haven’t seen at this level!. I immediately, started imaging. Giving short image stacking a go as I tweaked the settings. The more I tweaked the better it looked. Until finally, I was stacking 300 AVI formatted images in Registax6. The results were not the greatest,but the best I have ever gotten before.
Below is the outcome of last nights session. I will continue trying until I get the desired results I am looking for.

Mars@@10038-14-04-17-22-51-06

Leave a Reply

