Neximage 5 and Saturn


Last night was a pretty good night for star gazing. The sky was clear ,and the transparency was good as well. I was close to calling it a early night,but in my better judgment took the opportunity to image Saturn with the new camera. Having great success with Jupiter,Moon,and our sun I couldn’t wait to unleash the cam on a new target. I have taken images of Saturn before. However,never have I taken images with such nice detail!. More Saturn to come in the future. Below is the result of shooting 140 avi frames. It was stacked with Registax 6 and processed with PS cs6 with levels, and curves.
video00114

10 Responses to “Neximage 5 and Saturn”

  1. Love it. Very good shot

  2. Thank you John, I am pretty happy with it considering it was pretty low on the horizon.

  3. Actually looks like your scope is somewhat similar to the size of mine. This is roughly the same size I seen Saturn last night when I was out with mine. Nice to know what I thought was banding was actually banding I was seeing.

    I am curious, while looking through the scope I seen a pinprick of light that was probably a quarter inch to the left of Saturn. Is it possible to be one of the moons? Over the course of the 30 minutes or so I viewed Saturn, it didnt really seem to change distance from the planet.

    Either way, I am rambling now 😛 I cant wait to get a chance to photograph as well.

  4. I just visited your blog,and from what I read,you have a 4″ scope…correct?. I have a 10″ Meade SN myself.Which is a very fast f4 scope. It actually isn’t real good for planetary viewing/imaging.It gives much more contrast for DSO’s.
    Aside from the rings of Saturn,the planet doesn’t have a whole lot of surface features. If you were able to see some banding. Then you had a good focus 🙂
    The pinpoint star you saw is most likely a moon. When I viewed it the other night.I saw a moon that was located on the right.
    I can’t wait to see your images 😀

  5. haha yeah its a 4″ scope, guess the size of the planet is similar anyway 😛

    The banding that I thought I saw was always sort of off to the sides? I never could see it while looking directly at it in the center of the eyepiece. So it may or may not have actually been there, or I just got real lucky on the focus 😀

  6. Yeah, not much difference in size. Stars will be pretty much same size in all scopes.
    When you mention banding off to the sides.I am wondering if you were seeing the Cassini division perhaps?.
    Either way, it sounds like your focus was spot on 🙂

    • Really dont know how to explain it? The only time I thought I seen the banding on the planet itself was when I was trying to figure out if the moon (if it was) was in fact a moon. Then the planet seemed to take on a bit of shading in the cloud structure.

      I had read somewhere that its sometimes easiest to see the details of an object by not looking at it directly. Seems to fit as every time I adjusted my eyes back to the planet prime, I lost it and it just became the faint white orb and ring that I remember quite vividly now.

  7. That is called averted vision,and is a common practice when observing. You will find yourself doing that quite often.

  8. That’s a really nice image of Saturn. I’ve never been any good at astrophotography. My images are always out of focus (I used a dedicated CCD camera rather than a webcam and software to extract and stack the best frames). What system do you use for focusing – a Bahtinov mask or software?

  9. Thank you!. Actually, I focus using my pc monitor. For DSO’s I use a cheap Meade DSI,and again fine focus with the monitor. I use a parafocal ring on a eye piece that I don’t use much,to get a rough focus.

Leave a Reply

