Jupiter and her moons


It has been quite a while since my last posting.As always,I blame the weather but,also I have been quite busy working so putting the whole guilt on Mother nature just doesn’t seem right.We have had a decent stretch of clear skies these past few days and needed to get reaquainted with my scope.Even though with a full moon washing out the sky I did manage a few shots of Jupiter.Actually,I took about 70 images  of which only a few came out good.I have my new laptop with…ugh…windows Vista to run the DSI and it worked out pretty good.Sadly though,I can’t run the LPI which takes much better images of planetary objects (my opinion) due to some compatibility issue with Vista.If the skie cooperate,I may try to image Jupiter again tonight using my other Laptop.

The skies last night were a bit turbulent at the start of the session but,soon settled down with only a slight breeze.Their was a bit of humidity that caused dew to settle on the scope as the temps dipped to the upper 40s F.Observing went quite well until the full moon began to washout the sky.So,as you could imagine even with a hot cup of java I was chilled to the bone.

 Planet10+2

7 Responses to “Jupiter and her moons”

  1. […] See the original post here: Jupiter and her moons « Above the clouds […]

  2. […] Read the original: Jupiter and her moons « Above the clouds […]

  3. Hey – nice to see you’ve gotten out again. I’ve got my LPI working in Vista, but off the top of my head, I can’t remember exactly what I did specifically. It involved editing the registry and renaming the camera to Meade LPI from whatever it was called in there.

    • Thanks Ed,I hope you do remember how.I do remember reading about how to fix it in Vista.Give it some thought and let me know how you did it 🙂 .

  4. Hi Andrew,
    Nice shot. I finally managed to get my scope out the past few nights. Crisp clear sky and no moon!

    clear sky’s
    Michael

  5. Hi Michael,with the skies that we have had this season any clear sky is welcome and having no moonshine is a added bonus.Glad to hear you are getting your scope out for some fresh air!.

  6. Awesome! You need to come to Rhode Island and teach me how to do the EQ mount properly and prime focus!

Leave a Reply

