Messier 15


One of the first globular clusters that I  ever saw through my big scope was Messier 15,which is located in the constellation Pegasus.I Had seen similar objects like this through my other scope but,the resolution through the smaller scope is quite bad so, at the time I didn’t know what I was actually looking at!.All I could see was a tiny, faint fuzzy blob of light.How do I know it was M15 that I was looking at?.I don’t 😛 !.I just remember that it was in about the same area of sky during mid summer.I guess my little scope is better suited for objects in our solar system rather than deep space!.

At about 33,600 light years distant,Globular cluster M15 can be found in the constellation Pegasus and has a visual mag of +6.2 under dark skies.M15 was dicovered in 1746 by Jean-Dominique Maraldi while comet hunting,had described it as a “nebulous star made up of many stars” and was cataloged in1764 by Charles Messier who had described it as “nebula without stars”.It wasn’t until amost 20 years later in 1783 that William Herschel was able to resolve the many stars in this cluster.M15 is only one of four known globular clusters in the Milkyway to have a planetary nebula.

 Information credit: SEDS

Image credit: Me

4 Responses to “Messier 15”

  1. M15 is quite a site even in the city, hard to image without overexposing the core, you did great job.

  2. I agree,M15 is incredible to look at.It seems that everytime I try to get a decent shot,as you said,it always get over exposed.I did try something different though.I decided to shorten the exposures and increase the stacks.I figured that by a shorter exposure,I would be able to brighten and enhance it without too much noise involved.Hmmmmm, it seemed to work?!.Now , if only Mother nature would cooperate!!.

  3. Thanks Jared!

Leave a Reply

