Sunspot #988 with the DSI


Isn’t Spring wonderful???!!!.After a long Winter of cold and snow,it is finally beginning to warm up.Today,it is forecasted to be in the mid 40s F with calm winds.This may seem chilly to some but,just having the sunshine without the wind makes it almost balmy 🙂 !.I will even go  out on a limb and say Winter is officially over.Although I say that with a bit of hesitation as I have seen it snow in mid May,in which a rather thick coating of snow covered the already blossoming peas.Being just a little guy at the time,I remember how fun it was.Now….being four decades older I don’t believe I would find the excitement in a fresh snow so late in the Spring.I guess we will just have to wait and see!.

The new sunspots have since drifted and faded from view but,I will still post some images.I took these shots with the Meade DSI early last week.They came out ok but,I need to comeup with a way to reduce the glare on the laptop screen.I decided to use a black umbrella to block the sun but,it just wasn’t good enough as I was getting a lot of reflected coming from the melting snowbanks and everything else in the general area,which makes it almost impossible to get a sharp focus.If someone has any ideas please let me know!!!!.

I also want to make a correction on my last post.I stated that ( my opinion) these new sunspots were part of the new cycle or at least I was hinting at this.That information as it turns out is wrong.Well,not completely wrong but,close enough.While the sun HAS begun it’s new cycle according to SOHO,these sunpots are actually part of the last solar cycle (as I understand it).So,my apologies for the misinformation!!.

Images by:Andrew

2 Responses to “Sunspot #988 with the DSI”

  1. Great shots again, I have the same problem imaging the Sun, I put a light jacket over my head and the laptop, very hard to get good focus still, very awkward, the best I have come up with todate

  2. Thanks Bob,
    Holding a unbrella is quite awkward as well.I thought about putting the laptop in a deep box.I will give your idea a try though!. 🙂
    Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

