Astronomy through a window


I guess the headline says it all!.For 3 months now I haven’t had any luck with observing.Well,to be honest I have had the scope out once and that was last week.We finally were graced with clear skies even though the moon was washing out the night sky.The temps were quite cold and their was a northerly breeze which just rattles the bones no matter how well one bundles up.I began scanning the heavens for the familiar objects that bless our skies in the Winter months.It felt great just to have the scope out but,no matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t stop shivering.I managed to stay in the cold for a little more than a hour before I came to my senses so,I packed up and went in.Funny how that works?.20 years ago,I would have shrugged off the cold and stayed out all night.Now,I am afraid that a gust of wind would knock me down and I would shatter like a pane of glass.HAHAHAHA ok,I was being little dramatic about the breaking into a thousand pieces of glass part but,it WAS really cold 🙂 !.I did a little observing on Monday afternoon/night but,it wasn’t the typical form of observing.I stayed in my house where I was toasty warm!!.On a whim,I decided to check the sky through the window for the planet Mercury and I easily found it just after sunset.It was a rather awkward form of observing since I had to basically crawl halfway out of a window in order to see it due to the position of my house and the surrounding landscape.After spotting it,I grabbed my camera and through sheer luck, found that if I placed DSLR on the window ledge I could get a shot of it without a acrobatic maneuver on my part.I took a few shots before I realised that I was letting the warmth out.The images below are the results of my efforts….or lack their of!.

Note the surrounding landscape?.Heh,now you know why I was leaning out of my second story window!.

A cropped and resized version….

9 Responses to “Astronomy through a window”

  1. […] Astronomy through a window By Andrew I took a few shots before I realised that I was letting the warmth out.The images below are the results of my efforts….or lack their of!. Note the surrounding landscape?.Heh,now you know why I was leaning out of my second story window! … Above the clouds – https://bongo69.wordpress.com […]

  2. I hear ya, I got some pics of the Moon, but I Almost died I really wanted to stay outside more and look at stuff but -27c is just too cold on the instruments and the body, no matter what you wear.

  3. I just hope this isn’t a sign that we are growing old……..nah!!!.Perhaps the next time out,I will be sure to have a thermos full of HOT chocolate 🙂 !.

  4. Great site man! I added your site on mine.

  5. Wow very unique way to observe. I just managed to see Mercury the other day though I didn’t get any pics. Hey thanks for the add to your blogroll.

    The Fool

  6. My pleasure The Fool!.Given my body structure I think it would have been pretty funny to witness such a feat.It definitely beat setting the scope up in single digit temps.

  7. Hey Dude

    Glad I’m not the only one freezing my butt off just to get a few nice views in. It seems that we’re either getting pummeled with snow… or it clears and temperatures drop like a rock. I saw -8F the other day. That’s just plain frigid. Anyway… Skies are clear tonight. Hopefully get some nice views in before the next week long snow storm blows in tomorrow.

    Anthony

  8. Okay.. so, you need to go freeze your butt off and take some more pics!! lol

  9. Hahahaha,apparently Mother nature has been ignoring my request for clear skies!!.What short period of clear skies we had last night have since clouded over and we are now under a winter storm warning.I will look through my archives and find a image to post.

Leave a Reply

