NGC 2264 (Christmas tree cluster)


Merry Christmas!!!!

I am hoping everyone are having a happy and safe holiday season.Do to work scheduling ,I was able to celebrate this special holiday a few days early.I traveled 2 hours to my brothers house in central Vermont and enjoyed a spectacular meal.After our meal,we tore into our goodies under the tree,at which point I was temporarily employed to be the acting Santa.While handing out presents,we all exchanged funny stories from the past and the current.I must say,I guess Santa decided that I was extra good this year and he brought me some REALLY nice things/toys  😉 .One of the toys I am eager to use is a Orion Hydrogen Alpha filter for imaging….*WOOT* !. I will be writing a post about that later!.Another present I received is  Starry night software to help me plan my observing sessions!.I have already loaded it onto my Pc but,am unable to register it due to the fact that somebody with too much time on his/her hands, have hacked into the Starry night web site and completely disabled it….hope they get it fixed!!.

The Christmas tree cluster or NGC 2264 is a open cluster located in the constellation Monoceros.It is fairly easy cluster to see and also has some nebulosity that reminds me of a galactic Christmas present.This cluster is actually quite close at 2,600 light years distance with a visual mag of +3.9.

Since I took this image last year,I am not sure of my camera settings.My bad I know!.I should document every image setting for reasons such as this  😦  .

So Merry Christmas to all and to all a clear night!.

Image credit : Andrew Claus

6 Responses to “NGC 2264 (Christmas tree cluster)”

  1. astroleague Says:

    Merry Christmas Andrew!

    Best wishes for the holiday season and lots of clear, dark skies to explore in the coming year.

    Vern

  2. And a very Merry Christmas to you too, Andrew!

  3. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Andrew. Thanks for the good cheer all year round and looking forward to more.
    peter

  4. Merry Christmas and a happy new year to you and yours Andrew!

  5. hey andrew!! Merry Christmas and a great New Years to you!
    I’ll be eagerly waiting for your alpha filter post… till then have a blast 😉

  6. Great choice for Christmas! Merry Christmas to you and I hope you find Starry Night as useful as I do. It’s way easier to use than Autostar Suite and often helps me figure out what I want to view.

Leave a Reply

