Sunspot 978???


It appears that some sunspots have become visible on Sols eastern limb. SOHOa.k.a Solar and Heliospheric observatory has yet to designate a number,so I am going to take the opportunity to give it a number,which should be sunspot number 978.I have been watching the activity as it began to make it’s way around the limb.One of the signs that something was happening was by watching the glowing bulge from the EIT image on Soho’s home page.The bulge has steadily been growing for the past few days and I knew their was a increase in activity.Since the sun is unofficially in solar minimum right now,I have found that any sunspot activity lately as exciting.

In other news,I am finding quite tough adjusting to my new job.Don’t get me wrong,the work isn’t bad and the fast pace is something I like (time seems to go by really fast).The only tough part of the new job is that I have to wake up at 1:30am!!!.This really puts a wet blanket on any observing that I want to do because, I have to go to sleep by 7-7:30pm and THAT is when all the really interesting DSO’s come into full view 😦 .I just hope that we have some clear skies on the weekends!.

I took these images of the sun at noontime today.The skies were absolutely clear.Unfortunately,it was quite breezy and the temps were in the upper teens F.Brrrrrrrrr!!!!!.

The first image was taken at prime focus and the second was taken with a 25mm lens and 2x barlow.Both images are a bit out of focus due to the breeze causing the OTA to vibrate and for the fact that I was standing on the tips of my feet just to look through the DSLR viewfinder.

Enjoy!!!

Sunspot 978

25mm and 2x barlow

8 Responses to “Sunspot 978???”

  1. Awesome pics, I am so jealous, we have had clouds for ever -20c highs temps, and you are right, any activity is remarkable for the Sun right now.

  2. Very cool. Are you using a mylar solar filter or glass?

  3. Thanks Bob,this is the first clear day that we have had in almost 2 weeks and wouldn’t you know it…..it has clouded up again 😦 .

  4. Hi Ed,it is a glass filter.I like it because it gives a natural color.I don’t fully trust mylar,reason being that Mylar seems like it would be kind of flimsy and easily torn?!.Regardless,it was nice to have the scope out,even if it was for only a hour.The windchills were in the upper single numbers which caused me to run in to get warm quite often.

  5. One more question – how do you align your scope? I’m assuming you can’t see Polaris 🙂 Okay, two more questions – how do you point the scope – do you have a filter for your spotting scope?

  6. Heh,no I can’t see Polaris but,I knw pretty much where it is in the day sky.From previous observing sessions I noted where the scope was pointed in relation to some near by buildings and a distant light pole.I then slew the scop to a object that is in the vicinity of the sun (in this case,it was jupiter) and making sure the filter is in place.I don’t have a filter for the spotting scope so getting it pointed at the sun is a bit tricky,I use the OTA’s shadow on the ground as a guide to getting it really close by looking at the shadows orientation, i.e if the OTA shadow is oval then I need to tweak it until the shadow is more circular.Then I will look in the eyepiece and then it is just a matter of adjusting.
    Sorry tha was a long drawn out answer 😛 .

  7. Nope – that’s great. I was just curious how you do it without blinding yourself.

  8. […] see some sunspots in the bottom right picture. I first saw this grouping of sunspots mentioned on Andrew’s blog. If you look at his image, he gets better color because he’s using a glass filter rather than […]

Leave a Reply

