Apollo15 landing site


I had a decent night for observing and concentrated on taking some images of Luna.The moon never fails to impress me everytime I set my eyes on it.Their are so many different features to see that some of the more historical sites are often missed.

Apollo 15 was the ninth manned mission in the Apollo program and the fourth mission to land on the moon. It was the first of what were termed J missions — long duration stays on the moon with a greater focus on science than had been possible on previous missions.

Commander David Scott and Lunar Module Pilot Jim Erwin spent three days on the Moon and a total of 18½ hours outside the spacecraft  The mission was the first not to land in a Lunar Mare, instead landing near Hadley Rille in an area of the Mare Imbrium called Palus Putredinus (Marsh of Decay). The crew explored the area using the first Lunar rover allowing them to travel much further from the LM (Lunar Module)lander than had previously been possible. They collected a total of 77 kg (170 Earth pounds) of lunar surface material.

At the same time Command Module Pilot Alfred Worden orbited the Moon, using a Scientific Instrument Module (SIM) to study the lunar surface and environment in great detail using a panoramic camera, gamma ray spectrometer, mapping camera, laser altimeter, mass spectrometer, and lunar sub-satellite that was launched at the end of the mission.

Info credit:WIKIPEDIA

Images: Me!

6 Responses to “Apollo15 landing site”

  1. Voila! Sunrise across Imbrium. Beautiful image capturing the mountain ranges and prominent craters.
    Skies down here went south – or north 🙂
    peter

  2. 🙂 Hi Peter,we had some decent skies last night even though the upper atmosphere was pretty turbulent.I tried for a real high powered image but,it was so bad that when I had it on the Laoptop monitor it was like going through a carwash 😦 .Just as I am writing this,I looked out the window and we also have some clouds moving in as well.

  3. Great photo made even better by your description. I love the history of the space program (I’m a former Space Camp counselor and lecturer) and it’s fun to be able to see an image with knowledge of what happened there. Great post.

  4. A Space camp counselor…..WOW awesome!. 🙂
    Being a fan of the late Gene Shoemaker,I liked how he described the moon.”If you want to see what a fresh big impact looks like,you look at the moon… that guy up there!”.I could spend hours just looking at it!

  5. In some ways (mostly not having to do with how I was paid) it was the best job I’ve ever had. I earned just over $2 an hour in 1989 (I worked there every summer during college and then for a while afterward), but I loved every minute of it. I got to meet Niel Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin, Michael Collins, Alan Bean, Alan Shepard, Pete Conrad and a bunch of other astronauts. I had a great time and even got to be Kris Kristofferson and his son Jesse’s counselor at Parent/Child Space Camp (really nice guy, I made him the flight director for their shuttle mission – he had the perfect voice for it – low, a bit gravelly with a slight drawl and unlike the majority of parents, he knew how to read a script.). For a space history buff like me, living at one of the truly great space museums was a dream come true.

  6. I bet it was a thrill just being there,in that type of environment and being around the legends of space.Now that is what I call a dream job!.

Leave a Reply

