M92 (Globular cluster)


Like I wrote in the previous post.One of the objects that I imaged the other night was M93.Well,my bad…..that wasn’t correct!.For some unexplained reason my mind was hell bent on calling it M93,which is a open cluster that doesn’t rise until late morning……..*me tapping myself on the head* 🙂 .Ok,enough of me beating myself up!.

The real object was M92 which is high in the sky at 9Pm and yes…pretty much on the other side of the sky!.When I first looked at it,one of the thoughts that came to mind was how closely it resembled Globular M13.So close in fact that I almost hit delete because I have already taken 1,001 images of M13 this year!.Luckily I didn’t though!.I compared the two cluster and decided that it just didn’t quite match up with any of my M13 images.Whew,I didn’t waste my time after all!.

Located in the constellation Hercules,M92 is a bright Globular cluster that closely resembles M13.Shining at a visual mag of +6.4 and about 26,000 light years distant,it is only slightly dimmer and farther than M13.I suspect that if you compared them at the same distance,they would almost be identical in brightness?!.

Below is a stack of 100 images at 11.4 seconds per image.Processed with Registax4 and PS Elements.

Information Credit: SEDS

Image credit:Andrew

M92

3 Responses to “M92 (Globular cluster)”

  1. […] (Globular cluster) M92 (Globular cluster) « Above the clouds: Located in the constellation Hercules,M92 is a bright Globular cluster that closely resembles […]

  2. Beautiful shot my friend

  3. Thank you ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

