Messier 15


It has been quite apparent that fall has finally arrived.A few days ago the temps were warm and sunny with highs in the upper 70’s.But unfortunately,all good things must come to a end.The weather has taken a turn for the worst so,any thoughts of observing/imaging are just that….thoughts!.Oh well,perhaps the skies will be clear for the weekend?!.

Below is a shot of Globular cluster M15 that I imaged with the new laptop and Meade DSI.Like the Dumbbell neb,it isn’t of real high quality but,considering the quality of previous images taken with my Pentax ist DS,I am rather pleased with how little post processing I had to do,aside from a bit of sharpening,noise reduction and a boost in contrast.The image is a stack of 20 images at 15 second exposures.

Globular cluster Messier 15 (M15, NGC 7078) is among the more conspicuous of these great stellar swarms. At a distance of about 33,600 light years, its diameter of 18.0 arc min corresponds to a linear extension of about 175 light-years, and its total visual brightness of 6.2 magnitudes corresponds to an absolute magnitude of -9.17, or roughly 360,000 times that of our sun. Its brightest stars are about of apparent magnitude 12.6 or absolute magnitude -2.8 or a luminosity of 1,000 times that of our Sun, and its horizontal branch giants are about of magnitude 15.6. Its overall spectral type has been determined as F3 or F4. The globular cluster is approaching us at 107 km/sec.

Information courtesy of :SEDS

Image courtesy: ME!

Messier 15

6 Responses to “Messier 15”

  1. The way you mention that it’s approaching us sounds kind of ominous. I mean 107km/s is fast right?

    What scope are you using? It looks like you get better definition than I do.

  2. Hi Ed,actually the velocity is I believe is quite average?!. Ominous….yes but,given the distance it needs to travel to cause any immediate effects is perhaps many millions of years into the future.If mankind is still hanging on,the main event will happen when Andromeda and the Milkyway collide!.Again,many millions in the future.
    My scope is a 10″ Meade LXD75 SN or as I like to call it.A street light bucket….hahahahahahahaha 🙂 .

  3. Just a quick note. Andromeda and the Milky Way have collided in the past. I’ll see if I can find the research to support this in my data base.
    Great image Andrew!!

  4. Thanks Michael,I am interested to see the data.One would tend to think that their would be a slight bridge of material or some form of a disturbance in Andromeda’s structure given the timeline involved?!.

  5. Well still. I’m not sure I like the idea that anything is heading my way at 240,000mph. 🙂

    See how yours compares with mine here: http://fssg.wordpress.com/messier-photo-album/m1-m20/
    (M15 is much smaller and way less definied). It’s neat to see pretty much apples to apples comparisons to figure out what I’ll be able to see when I upgrade. Which won’t be until at least after I’ve completed my Messier hunt.

  6. Yeah,the speed at which these objects move is amazing considering that our fastest rockets can only achieve a small percentage of that speed!.
    I think it is a lot of fun comparing as well.Aperture makes a big difference in resolution!.

Leave a Reply

