Orions belt and sword


“Therein he wrought the earth, therein the heavens therein the sea, and the unwearied sun, and the moon at the full, and therein all the constellations wherewith heaven is crowned—the Pleiades, and the Hyades and the mighty Orion, and the Bear, that men call also the Wain, that circleth ever in her place, and watcheth Orion, and alone hath no part in the baths of Ocean”.
Homers Illiad 18.483

I awoke this morning feeling under the weather…so to speak and decided to take the day off from work 😦 . While I was awake I took a peek out of the window and noticed how clear AND dark the skies were.Not feeling like bringing any of my scopes out,I didn’t want to pass up the opportunity to get some images and thinking to myself “why not try for Orion?”.So out the door I go with just my camera and a table top tripod that I placed on the hood of my car.Not expecting to get much exposure time since the tripod is only plastic and not motorized,I was certainly surprised as to what I actually imaged.To be honest,I was thrilled with the shot,even though I wasn’t able to get the whole constellation into one image.I set my ISO at 1600 and the exposure was a mind blowing…….32 seconds according to the histogram and camera information for the image.Their were slight star trails but,I fixed them with Photoshop Elements.I also increased the contrast, removed the noise and enhanced the star color which really pulled out the nebula in Orion.

Image credit:Andrew

Orions belt and sword

8 Responses to “Orions belt and sword”

  1. Great Picture!!! Well done. Thanks for posting exposure times etc.

  2. That turned out great. Orion is dominating my earlier morning sky too. I can’t wait to get some time to go out for a look.

  3. Nice – I didn’t realize that you’d be able to see the nebulosity in an image like that. Cool. Hope you feel better soon.

  4. Thanks Michael,I thought that adding all of the camera info would be helpful to everyone!.How did your images from the othernight comeout?.We definitely need to get back to that site again,I had a lot of fun even if the weather didn’t cooperate to what we wanted 😦 .
    Andrew

  5. Hi Phil,Yeah,Orion is a wonderful object to view.I have been looking at it with bino’s for a few weeks now and never get tired of looking at it.Almost time to get a close up image of it .
    Andrew

  6. Thanks ED,
    I’m feeling lots better now.I think the lack of sleep was catching up to me.I was completely surprised that I was able to take a exposure that long without the super long star trails.The Orion nebula is pretty bright so bumping up the ISO was a huge help.Even still,I didn’t think I would be able to capture the neb.Makes me wonder what else I can capture with just the use of a camera 🙂 .
    Andrew

  7. Great shot of Orion!

  8. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

