Sunspot 963


A new train of sunpots have appeared on the eastern limb over the last few days.Soho has designated the main spot as #963.I was a bit worried that I wouldn’t be able to see the new sunspot because of the heat/ humidity which usually lead to late day thunderstorms (see the previous post).Well, for the moment the crappy skies have cleaned up and the dew point is at a refreshing 55 degrees F and humidity is 44%.I wish I could send the more comfortable weather to the fire fighters out west!!!!.Good luck guys!.

Here is the solar report issued by the U.S. Dept. of Commerce, NOAA,
Space Environment Center and the U.S. Air Force.

Joint USAF/NOAA Report of Solar and Geophysical Activity
SDF Number 193 Issued at 2200Z on 12 Jul 2007

IA.  Analysis of Solar Active Regions and Activity from  11/2100Z
to 12/2100Z:  Solar activity was very low.  No significant flares
occurred during the past 24 hours.

IB.  Solar Activity Forecast:  Solar activity is expected to be very
low, with a slight chance for an isolated C-class flare from Region
963 (S05E15).

IIA.  Geophysical Activity Summary 11/2100Z to 12/2100Z:
The geomagnetic field was quiet to unsettled.  Solar wind speed at
ACE has steadily declined to around 485 km/s at forecast issue time.

IIB.  Geophysical Activity Forecast:  The geomagnetic field is
expected to be quiet to unsettled for the next three days (13-15
July).  Isolated active periods are possible on 14-15 July due to a
recurrent coronal hole.

The image below was taken with a Pentax ist DS DSLR at prime focus.Photoshop Elements was used to crop and sharpen the image.

This image was taken using A-focal projection.A 14mm eye piece was used and processing was with PS Elements.Image was sharpened and contrast was increased a bit.

The image below was taken with A-focal projection using a 14mm Meade ultrawide lens and a 2x barlow.Processing was with PS Elements.I also pasted a image of Earth on the main sunspot to give a idea of how large this spot is.The Earth size is only the approximate size!.

Earth looks small!

Information credit:www.sec.noaa.gov/forecast

Image credit: Andrew

8 Responses to “Sunspot 963”

  1. Great pics Andew,
    I’m hoping to get some myself this weekend. Have you seen comet
    Linear yet? It’s next to the handle of the big dipper. I posted an article in my blog with a pdf chart.
    http://www.mwvastronomy.com/blog/

  2. Thanks Michael,
    I haven’t located it yet.I half heartedly searched for it last night with the bino’s but was too tired to to give it much effort.Maybe if the skies cooperate tonight I will try to get some shots of it?!.
    Andrew

  3. Great picture

    Cant remember when i last observed a sunspot cant really remember when i last saw the sun 😦

    Mark

  4. Hi Mark,yeah,you guys have been having the worst luck.We haven’t faired much better here either.We just haven’t had to deal with the rain.We dealt with the rainy weather last year.I hope that it clears off for you soon!.HAHAHAHAHA,it is raining cats and dogs here as I type this reply…….go figure!.Good luck and clear skies!!!.

  5. Will we ever see clear skies again? So sad!

  6. I placed an order for clear skies from Mother nature and she says that she is out of that particular item….hahahahahaha!.I’m not going to count on it but,this weekend might have some cleaner skies.Got my fingers crossed!!!.

  7. andrew, *great pics*, i congradulate you 🙂

    on my birthday (july 16th) my friends made me the best present:
    a mini-scope 🙂

    i am officialy a begginer now and i really hope that someday, i will have the chance to see all those great things you ve captured 😀

  8. Well,
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY M13!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Sounds like you have some wonderful friends indeed!.
    Their are SO MANY things to see up there and now that you have a scope,I am sure that you will enjoy the night skies as much as I do!.I understand that your neck of the woods are experiencing raging wild fires just like we are here in the states?!.I hope the smoke doesn’t get in the way of you enjoying your new toy.I would love to see some pictures of it *pleeease?*.
    The skies here have just been dreadful for the last week now but,a weather front has just moved through and I can now see the sunshine…WOOHOO!.Of course their are puffy clouds at times but,it is still nice to see Sol.If the skies cooperate I am going to try for some images of comet Linear either tonight or tomorrow night!.
    Enjoy your new scope!
    Clear skies!!
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

