Sunspot 961


A new and rather large sunspot has appeared on the limb.Actually,at the time of this post it is now face on and still large.I meant to post this on Friday but,I suddenly became lazy….oh well,better late than never!!!.My interest in the new spot started last Tuesday as a bright glow and arc that formed above the solar surface.As the time wore on the glow became much brighter,until finally it appeared on Wednesday.Knowing that I wouldn’t have a chance to get any shots due to the terrible skies I opted for Friday afternoon.We had a cold front come through on Wednesday evening(as you will note my previous entry) and new that Thursday would be a transition day for the cleaner skies.It was a good call as Friday was a great day for imaging.Well…..much better than we have had in a while.

Here is the current solar forecast issued by the U.S. Dept. of Commerce, NOAA,
Space Environment Center and the U.S. Air Force.
Joint USAF/NOAA Report of Solar and Geophysical Activity
SDF Number 183 Issued at 2200Z on 02 Jul 2007

IA.  Analysis of Solar Active Regions and Activity from  01/2100Z
to 02/2100Z:  Solar activity was very low.

IB.  Solar Activity Forecast:  Solar activity is expected to be very
low.

IIA.  Geophysical Activity Summary 01/2100Z to 02/2100Z:
The geomagnetic field was quiet.

IIB.  Geophysical Activity Forecast:  The geomagnetic field is
expected to be quiet to unsettled 03 – 04 July and abating to quiet
for 05 July.
Again as of the time of this entry the spot is still quite large,perhaps the size of 2 Earths but,seems to diminishing in size.

If you have the proper solar filters I would suggest taking a peek at this spot and please remember to never look directly at the sun without protection!.

Below are some images that I took on Friday afternoon and for a really really nice shot check out Verns image.All I can say is WOW!.Good job Vern!.

Sunspot 961 full view

I decided to get a bit creative with this shot.I wanted to see if I could get a glimpse of the corona so,I used a nearby building as a man made occular.I don’t think I did but regardless,I think it has that surreal medieval look to it.

Medieval times

Information credit:Space Environment Center

Image credit:Andrew

4 Responses to “Sunspot 961”

  1. If the clouds ever lift we may get a look at 963. It seems to be a real beauty!

  2. SS 963 certainly is!.The skies have been really bad for the past week.Our local forcast is for lower humidity and clearer skies tomorrow afternoon.If I can escape from work,I will try for some images (fingers crossed!).

  3. I hope you got your pics. I didn’t get home before the sun dipped below the trees.

  4. Hi Michael,
    I sure did get some shots.It took a while due to one cloud that decided to cover up the sun but,eventually it moved and I was able to take about 85 different images,most of which were some what blurry due to high clouds.A few were pretty shearp though.The main spot is huge!!!!.I will be posting some images in a few minutes.
    Too bad that you were unable to see the spots!.The skies up your way seemed pretty clear too.Bummer!.
    Hope that you will be able to see them this weekend!.
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

