Distorted sun and lightning bolts


After a day of almost unbearable humidity and sweltering heat I was treated to quite a eventful evening.While cooling myself off in my apartment with the AC on high.I noticed a redish glow coming through the edge of the blinds.Upon opening the blinds I was amazed at the color of the sun.A very pink color that was dimmed by the hazy skies.I had to actually crawl through the window of my apartment and out onto the roof to get the sun images which was quite a feat in it’s self.After capturing the images and returning to the cool comforts of my home, a lightning storm hit 15 minutes later.The storm lasted for about 20 minutes and with luck on my side,no rain was involved making it possible to take the images without worry of getting the camera wet.

Below are some of the images that I took from last night using my Pentax ist DS DSLR.

The first 2 images are of a distorted sun.The images were cropped and resized only using Photoshop Elements.

Distorted sun

20 seconds later…..

A bolt of lightning can travel at a speed of 45 km/s (kilometres per second) (100,000 mph, 160,000 km/h). [4] It can reach temperatures approaching 28,000 °C (50,000 °F), hot enough to fuse soil or sand into glass!!!!.

A double strike……..

6 Responses to “Distorted sun and lightning bolts”

  1. my God, these images are really beautiful!

    especially the double stike 🙂

  2. Thank you m13,
    We very seldom get lightning storms like this one.I took about 30 pictures and only 2 were good shots.It was a bit frustrating at times because everytime I saw a flash I would move my camera to that area of sky,only to have a vivid flash in the exact area that I was just watching…..
    Andrew

  3. Great images been trying to get some good lighting images myself what settings did you use??

    Mark

  4. Hi Mark,
    I used a 55mm lense for these shots.I set the camera to manual and the ISO at 200 at f/32,leaving the shutter open for 1 to 5 seconds.You will find that shooting at night or when the sun is setting is when you will get the more favorable shots.Shooting during the day will over expose from the light unless you are really lucky and snap a shot the instant of the lightning bolt.HAHAHAHAHA,I have tried!.The last time I was able to capture some nice lightning shots was in 2005,not to say we didn’t have storms.A good bet is to shoot for storms that are at a safe distance away.Last summer I was trying for some shots and the lightning was striking so close that I could hear snapping sounds just as the bolts would hit followed by a horrendous KABOOM.This happened several times before I realised that the bolts were striking trees that were directly behind me.As you can imagine,I quickly ran to the safety of my house.

  5. Thanks Andrew will have a go next time i have a chance 🙂

    Mark

  6. …and here are the directions. sweet.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

