Jupiter and the LPI


Hey,what do you know.The local weather service got another forecast wrong and I liked it!.The forecast for Friday night was overcast skies and showers,both of which never happened.It was tough to observe with the non stop roar of motorcycles however, I quickly over came and tuned out the noise.The skies were not the greatest but I didn’t relly care as long as I could see the heavens.I would put the transparency at below average and the seeing poor.Humidity was quite high as well as dew was forming in the dropping temps.I made many stops during the course of the evening starting with M 13.I like to perform a trial run with the scope just to be sure that it’s goto is working properly.Other stops were made at M15,Enif,Antares,Enif,the Ring neb,Dumbell neb.I had to wait for Jupiter to rise above the tree line but,by 10:30 it had come into view and what a sight.Even with the milky skies I was able to make out the cloud belts and of course the moons were very bright as well.

I started imaging with the LPI at 11pm and continued until about 1am.I’m still trying to get used to using the LPI but,what I have shot,beats anything that I have taken with the DSLR….well as far as planets are concerned.

The image below is a stack of 25 using Autostar Suite.Photoshop Elements and Registax were also used.The shot shows a fair amount of detail including the Great Red Spot…..I think?.When and if the skies cleanup,I will definitely give Jupiter another try.I am convinced that I can get a better shot with loads more detail.

Image credit:Me!

 My best yet! 

4 Responses to “Jupiter and the LPI”

  1. Did you use a barlow?

  2. Actually,I used 2 barlows together….I think I pushed the scope a bit too far?.It was the first time I have used the LPI on Jupiter and my focus (I think?) is a little off.The sky conditions were not the best but I couldn’t pass the opportunity up!.

  3. I have been thinking about getting an LPI (for quite a while 🙂 ). I use a Philips ToUcam now and get good results. I can’t help think that the LPI would do better. I’m kind of torn because I’ve seen planetary images taken with the DSI II. My Jupiter and Saturn photos have about 1800 frames stacked in Registax! Talk about churning CPU cycles hahaha.

  4. Hi Matt,
    CPU usage is somthing I am all too familiar with.It isn’t uncommon for me to be working away and all of a sudde get a message stating that my memory is too low….then my pc locks up.HAHAHAHA,funny now but,not when aquiring images.I haven’t used the LPI all that often and since my other camera is a DSLR it is hard to make a comparison.HEH,actually,their is no comparison.The LPI beats my DSLR hands down for planetary imaging.I recently purchased a Meade DS90 that I am going to unleash on the solar system somtime soon??!.I think you should give a LPI a try.I must say the LPI does a FANTASIC job on imaging the moon!.Funds have been extremely tight this year and sooner or later I will be purchasing a CCD imager.Hmmmmm,or perhaps a Laptop would be a wiser choise as I am still running up and down the stairs to my apartment.Luckily I have been getting good at centering the object in the LPI so doing the stair master thing is a pain that has passsed……oops,I hope I didn’t jinx myself?.
    Clear skies!
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

