The Ring neb 2007


I have a 3 day weekend and wouldn’t you know it,the skies are terrible.This is why I am going to share another image that I took over a month ago.At the time of this image was taken,the Ring neb was rising at about 1:30am and was the last time the seeing was good.Aside from just wanting to get out and observe.Their are a couple objects that I really want to see and if possible…image.Comet Lovejoy is making it’s appearence near the cup of the Bigdipper.I haven’t seen it yet but,plan to if the skies cooperate.Another object high on my list of objects to see is Asteroid 4 Vesta which should be approaching a mag +5.5 and is located just North of Jupiter.If and when I do get to see and image 4 Vesta,I will be sure to write a post about it.Below is a wide field shot of the Ring nebula.Normally,I like to crop and resize some of my images but,have come to realize that by doing this,it doesn’t give a good perspective of the star field surrounding a object or a idea of the size of the object seen through the eyepiece/viewfinder.Which is good if the person looking through a scope has never seen this object before.Even though,the image below HAS been cropped and resized,the altered amount is minimal.

Image credit:Andrew

9 Responses to “The Ring neb 2007”

  1. This is just a test

  2. Hi Andrew,

    I found your new blogging home, looks good!

  3. Hi Vern and welcome,I think the new blog will work better for me?!.

  4. Great new blog just updated the link from my blog to yours 🙂 Keep up the good work.

    Mark

  5. Andrew,
    The new blog looks great! I’ll update my links as soon as I can.

  6. Thanks Mark and Michael:)

  7. updated your link on all three of my sites

  8. Well it’s Tuesday and the best night we are going to see for a while. Lovejoy awaits!!

  9. If I can stay awake long enough,I might give it a shot as well!.

Leave a Reply

